Portugal is a southern European State with a total area of 91.985 sq Km. The continental part is situated on the extreme southeast of the Iberian Peninsula, bordered by Spain to the north and to the east, and by the Atlantic Ocean to the west and south, covering an area of 89.348 sq Km.

The Portuguese territory includes the Azores and Madeira archipelagos. The Madeira archipelago is situated on the Atlantic Ocean at approximately 911 Km southeast of Lisbon and is composed of the Madeira island, Porto Santo island, Desertas islands and Selvagens islands, covering an area of 794 sq Km.

The archipelago of Azores, situated on the Atlantic Ocean at 1223 Km from Lisbon is formed by nine islands and some islets: Santa Maria, San Miguel, Terceira, Graciosa, San Jorge, Pico, Faial, Flores and Corvo, covering a total area of 2.247 sq Km.

Portugal – Complete Country Profile